Blame It On The Streets (Trailer)

“The short film “Blame it On The Streets” is basically the life behind a couple of records off “My Krazy Life.” When you listen to that album it feels like you are watching a movie…So I wrote this film to give people a chance to see what my krazy life is all about. Good bye 2014…Hello 2015!” – YG

Compton-based rapper YG will have the rare distinction of releasing two long-players within the space of one calendar year when his new film-and-soundtrack project BLAME IT ON THE STREETS arrives in stores on December 15th, the eagerly anticipated follow-up to My Krazy Life, his debut album on Def Jam Recordings, released on March 18th.

A uniquely ambitious project for 24-year old YG, BLAME IT ON THE STREETS is a short picture about life behind the music on My Krazy Life. The 30 minute short film gives fans a glimpse into a day in YG’s “krazy” life, for which he co-wrote the script with Lucky Rodgers and stars in alongside Rick Gonzales and Jade Yorker. In it, YG showcases his acting chops and his uncanny ability to bring his lyrics to life. BLAME IT ON THE STREETS will also contain a soundtrack of 9 tracks, six of which are new, two of which are remixes, plus a live version of “BPT” (the opening number of My Krazy Life). The 9-track soundtrack will include collaborations from DJ Mustard, DJ Quik, Jay 305, Nipsey Hussle and Mac 10. (Please see full track listing below)

1) BPT Live
2) Bicken Back Being Bool Remix f/ Big Wy, Mack 10 & DJ Quik
3) Blame It On The Streets w/ Jay 305
4) Ride With Me w/ RJ & Nipsey Hussle
5) Me & My Bitch (The Neighbourhood Remix)
6) If I Ever w/ TeeCee 4800 & Charlie Hood
7) G$FB w/ Slim 400, D Lo & RJ
8) OMMIO Freestyle f/ RJ
9) 2015 Flow (prod. By DJ Mustard)

In support of My Krazy Life, YG played his first major U.S. headlining tour in the spring, an 8-week, 30-city trip from March through June. Just last month, the controversial “My N***a” took home double honors as Track Of the Year and Best Collabo, Duo/Group at the 9th annual BET Hip-Hop Awards. In its survey of “The Best Albums Of 2014 (So Far)” in June, Complex ranked My Krazy Life at #1, calling it “a modern gangsta rap classic… a gust of fresh air… a loose concept album that follows a day in the life of YG as he navigates the highs and lows of his Compton – excuse me, Bompton – experience… In an era when most albums feel rushed, My Krazy Life sounds like it was a lifetime in the making.”

YG will be hitting the road on the Best Coast Connection Tour with Harlem rapper A$AP Ferg for shows in the U.S. and Canada, opening November 19th at the Sound Academy in Toronto and wrapping at The Fillmore in Silver Springs, MD on Jan 18th. The tour will include one show at Best Buy Theatre in New York on January 9thstarring YG and frequent L.A. collaborator Nipsey Hussle.

My Krazy Life was a coming-of-age musical compilation of past life experiences that have greatly influenced YG’s music. He chose to release the album on March 18th, the day before his five year anniversary of being jailed for flocking, to represent his journey and growth as an artist since then. My Krazy Life was a collaboration between YG’s independent label known as Pu$haz Ink and Jeezy’s Atlanta-based CTE label. The relationship came to fruition after Jeezy came to Los Angeles and witnessed the movement that YG and DJ Mustard had created with their new West Coast rap sound. Since then, Jeezy has taken YG under his wing, establishing a mentorship that played a dynamic role in influencing the direction of the album.

YG’s career in music started five years ago in high school when he discovered his passion for rapping. Using just a mic and minimal recording equipment, he began his journey to success by releasing popular mixtapes and performing at neighborhood house parties in Los Angeles. Working alongside DJ Mustard, the duo quickly carved their own lane in music as the pioneers of a new West Coast rap movement made popular by Pu$haz Ink and the release of multiple mixtapes. Those mixtapes were the manifestations of YG and DJ Mustard’s unique and cutting edge sound that caught radio, record labels and fans by storm..

Follow @YG on Instagram and Twitter for album updates, tour information and more!

More Reading

Post navigation

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *